View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Baked Rigatoni with Spinach, Ricotta, and Fontina


Source: Quick from Scratch - Herbs
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  28   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Lesa, NJ Reviewed: 10/11/2011
Good for non-flesheaters
Yes, it is high in fat and sodium. Selecting low-fat varities of the cheeses would take care of some of the fat. I also suggest, if using the frozen spinach (I prefer fresh as I don't like soggy spinach) to add more. Also, substituting whole grain pasta helps keep it healthier. I always add Tabasco to my pasta dishes (just a bit) for kick. Also, I'm not a flesh eater, so the portion size is OK if for a main meal. Does have a *lot* of cheese though.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Wanda Reviewed: 10/11/2011
Not as healthy as it looks!
Did you look at the nutrition facts for this recipe? It is not all that healthy even though it does have spinach in it! Maybe there is a way to lighten it up?
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Silvia, WA Reviewed: 10/04/2011
Not too heavy
This is delicious comfort food, but doesn't feel too heavy. I used a little more grated cheese than called for, but other than that followed the recipe. It felt like I could have used more spinach without hurting anything. The leftovers reheated well in the microwave, tightly covered so they didn't dry out.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Gay, CA Reviewed: 04/29/2010
Bland and Expensive
I found the cheeses to be too mild, it was a little bland for my palate. Maybe more Parmesan and less Ricotta? This is an expensive dish, too, because of the cheeses. Ricotta is $3, Fontina is $5 plus the Parmesan. My husband liked it, my kids didn't. This big 13x9" dish will serve 6, but I won't be saving this recipe.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Rex, OK Reviewed: 02/09/2010
Disappointing
This is definitely one of those recipes that looks better on paper than it actually is. Heeding the warning of other reviewers who found it too dry, I added an egg along with a splash of heavy cream to the spinach-ricotta mixture, but still thought it was unpleasantly dry. And in spite of increasing the salt to a full teaspoon and adding a generous sprinkling of Italian seasoning, I also thought the dish was somewhat bland and under-seasoned. Will not make this one again.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Rene Reviewed: 01/06/2010
Yum!
Very good! Used frozen chopped spinach instead so I didn't have to use the food processor. I also added 1 egg to the ricotta/spinach mixture for moisture. I have to say, by adding the egg this was not dry at all once cooked! I sliced 2 plum tomatoes and drizzled them with olive oil and placed on top of the rigatoni. I then added the remaining cheese to the top and baked. The tomatoes really broke up the flavors and made it that much more enjoyable. I think next time I will add chicken too!
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Zanne Reviewed: 01/05/2010
Should be a side dish
This looks very similar to something I have made in the past. This is the type of dish that should be a side dish, which then reduces the unhealthy numbers per serving. Even regular Mac n'Cheese should not be the main course.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: jane Reviewed: 01/04/2010
way too much fat and carbs!!
my goodness........this is killer food!with 92 g of carbs and 38 g of fat its just not healthy at all.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: ANN, NY Reviewed: 01/04/2010
Looks delicious
I haven't tried it yet but plan to do so soon. The comments are very helpful. Someone thought it was healthy, and it does have healthy ingredients. However, the calories are based on 4 servings, so no wonder they are so high. A pound box of pasta has 8 normal servings. Enjoy it in smaller portions.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: jose, -- Reviewed: 04/21/2009
great!
best rigatoni i've had in a while
62 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  28   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You