View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Dad's Favorite Deviled Eggs


Source: Summertime Treats: Recipes and Crafts for the Whole Family
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 2
by: Mary, PA Reviewed: 05/26/2012
Deviled eggs
i made the recipe exactly as stated and had to throw the eggs away because they were undercooked and would not peel. I then tried again but let the eggs sit for 20 minutes before running them under cold water - that worked well - the recipe is too salty for my taste and only 1/2 cup of dressing is needed - I used Hellman's.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Virginia Reviewed: 05/07/2012
First of all you put eggs in a pan covered with water. Bring to a boil. Turn off heat and cover with a lid. Put timer on 20 seconds. Put the eggs in the sink run cold water over them till cool then crack all over. Let sit for a few minutes in the water then peel. I use basically the same recipe but usually use vinegar and a splash of lemon juice. Sometimes add sweet relish.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Wendy Reviewed: 05/06/2012
I LOVE Miracle Whip
HAHAHAHAHaa I have to laugh at the divide between Best Food lovers and Miracle Whip lovers. I stock both in my refrig for guests but I prefer Miracle Whip. And I LOVE THIS recipe. Great Summer memories.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: G. M. Reviewed: 05/06/2012
Cut Miracle Whip with yogurt
This good basic recipe is freely adaptable. For those turned off by MW, whether by real taste or imagined reputation, try cutting it with plain nonfat yogurt to cut half the calories and fat, and pick up some extra tartness on the side. If you want to sweeten it, use sugar or honey; if you want it more tart, add some pickle juice or one of the several vinegars available. And, don't overlook the Worcestershire, Tabasco, Cholula, and other sauces when making this recipe.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Kristen, OH Reviewed: 05/06/2012
Where's the relish?
Every deviled egg recipe I've ever had has some relish in in - I actually use a mix of sweet and dill relish, so they don't get too sweet. Then sprinkle paprika on the finished eggs. My husband can't stand Miracle Whip, but I actually like it and bet I could sneak it in on him (maybe do 1/2 MW and 1/2 Hellmann's). But I do like the dijon vs. yellow mustard. Those of you who are used to yellow mustard should try it with Dijon - much better! Thanks!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Delia, GA Reviewed: 05/05/2012
NO WAY, JOSE'
I AGREE - - ANYTHING MADE WITH MIRACLE WHIP IS GROSS.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Mark Reviewed: 12/31/2011
Great Deviled Eggs, but...
This is an excellent basic deviled egg recipe, but I like putting regular yellow mustard in them rather than dijon. I think the taste is much better. Of course, it is just a personal preference.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: BARRY Reviewed: 12/31/2011
I'm turned off to any recipe that includes Miracle Whip. If a recipe needs to be sweeter, then just adding a little sugar to mayonaise works great.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Al, WI Reviewed: 12/29/2011
Deviled eggs
I also use this recipe and add paprika,dillweed,and dill seed. This is by far the best deviled egg recipe of the several I have tried.It is very important to add vinegar and sugar instead of the juice. Top with paprika and a sprinkle of extra sugar to give it a wonderful look and a glaze.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Rolf Reviewed: 12/28/2011
Variation to Dad's Favorite Deviled Eggs
I add a little sweet relish and top with an olive, instead of the parsley. Otherwise the recipe is the same, and very delicious.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You