View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Famous Pumpkin Pie


Source: Thanksgiving 101
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Chris Reviewed: 06/23/2013
Nothing beats this classic
If you are a real pumpkin lover, none of the fancy pumpkin cheesecake/mousse/carmel/nut, etc recipes can beat this one. It's divine for breakfast too, served straight from the frig. Hmmm...think I'll go make some now! For me, it's a year-round thing!
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Carol Reviewed: 10/29/2012
Yummy Pumpkin Pie
This is my favorite pumpkin pie recipe and always go back to it no matter what else I have tried. When we stopped eating the crust, I made it in custard cups and that was a big hit also.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Bonnie Reviewed: 10/17/2012
Ahhhhhhhhhh Autumn and Famous Pumpkin Pie
I too substitute brown sugar and use a couple of Tablespoons of molasses OR maple syrup to give more complexity to the pie. I'm not fond of cloves in this recipe so I substitute allspice or pumpkin pie spice and add dash of nutmeg to round out the already wonderful flavor. This is certainly one of my all time favorite pies.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Eileen, DE Reviewed: 10/28/2011
Great tasting - try exchaning whte sugar wtih brown sugar and adding a couple of tablespoons of molasses .... gives it a new depth of flavor.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Yvonne Reviewed: 10/27/2011
I won't use any other recipe
Five stars all the way. Been used by my family for years.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: marilyn, CA Reviewed: 11/29/2010
combining two pies into one fabulous one
I make my pumpkin pie and then add the toppings of the Pecan Pie onto the top: pecans and karo mixture. I makes the best of two great desserts....and you don't get the overly sweet Pecan Pie center.....
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Jon, CT Reviewed: 11/15/2010
Perfectly Famous
It needs a full cup of sugar, 1 ½ tsp cinnamon,½ tsp ground clove, ½ tsp allspice, ½ tsp ginger, ½ tsp nutmeg, 2 tsp vanilla extract. Throw it all in a blender and pour into shell. Sprinkle top with more cinnamon, nutmeg and raw sugar. Now it's perfectly famous.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: patricia, WI Reviewed: 11/11/2010
Great Traditional Pie Recipe
I have used this as my main canned recipe for over 40 years and I always use Libby's. The only suggestion I have is to use a little less evaporated milk for a denser pie. I use about 8 to 10 ounces.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Terry Reviewed: 10/15/2010
Yummmo - Nothing else will do
The only pie ever served at Thanksgiving around our house. I added 1/2 tsp. of Allspice in place of the cloves. I use Brown sugar not white. I use pumpkin filling in place of pure pumpkin it makes the flavour more intense.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Richard Reviewed: 10/05/2009
Where's the recipe for the pie crust?
Recipe looks reasonable, but there is no link to the Perfect Piecrust 101 called for in the ingredients!
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You