Get It By ThanksgivingShipping Deadlines See Details >>
View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49

Lemon Snow Drops


Source: Fine Cooking - Issue No. 24
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  15   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Viki Reviewed: 01/10/2013
Not a good cookie to flavor with lemon
This definitely did not deserve to get the "Best Cookie of the Year". I love lemon flavored anything, and added extra as others suggested. It was just OK. I wouldn't make it again. If you like the idea of this kind of cookie, but without the lemon, look up a recipe for Russian Tea Cakes. They are yummy. Lemon doesn't belong in this cookie.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Deborah Reviewed: 12/31/2012
This cookie recipe is really good!
The reviewers that had problems with dry dough definitely added too much flour. A nod to the other reviewers that noted this, I made this recipe with a bit over 12 ounces of AP flour which was on the heavy side since I did add a little extra lemon juice to use up my lemon cache. An added note: to coat the warm cookies in the sugar gently shake them and the powdered sugar in a plastic bag. When completely cool coat them again. Using a plastic bag is a lot less messy! Nice and even white coating.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Amy Reviewed: 12/22/2012
Why's this Dough so Dry?!
The cookies came out good but MAN, as a previous reviewer said, the dough is VERY dry and crumbly. I doubled the amount of lemon juice (because the dough wasn't lemony enough at ALL - I should've doubled the ZEST) to add lemon flavor and moisten them up - still DRY. I was able to form balls but only after doing some serious pressing. After pressing them between my fingers, I was able to GENTLY roll them into balls. Yummy but needs WAY more zest and juice. STILL not lemony enough at all.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: janice, OH Reviewed: 05/08/2012
I found a perfect solution!
I was a little hesitant to try these after reading all the other people's comments...but it also drove me to find a solution that would work. I found it!! Here's the changes I made: (1) zested two lemons and used that (did not measure); (2) squeezed the lemon juice from those two lemons and used that (yes, it's more than the original recipe called for, but it was the perfect amount); (3) I froze the dough balls; then let them sit for 5 minutes before baking. They came out perfectly!!!
34 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Edie Reviewed: 05/04/2012
I made a mistake with ingredients the first time. Tried it a second time - not lemony tasting enough but not bad. Also couldn't roll the dough (it crumbled). I was able to form them on a spoon. Baking time was less - I watched them carefully. I wasn't sure about freezing - when and why. I might try them again.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Jane Reviewed: 05/04/2012
Something Wrong
There is a major problem with this recipe. I double checked everything. The dough will not hold together. Too much flour for the moist ingredents.It will not hold together. It just flakes.I was supposed to bring these to a party tomorrow. I am going to try to fix the batter but not sure what to do.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Merri Reviewed: 05/01/2012
Lemon Snow Drop Cookies
These sound scrumptious, however, I notice there are no eggs in this recipe. Could that be why they are dry?
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: car Reviewed: 04/30/2012
Don't bother
Too little lemon flavor. I reviewed the other recipes prior to making and made adjustments - added one egg and more lemon zest and juice - it created a decent cookie, but no lemon "wow" factor. When I go for a lemon cookie I'm really looking for that big hit of lemon to surprise me and wake my tastebuds. This recipe was dissappointing.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Jennifer, CA Reviewed: 04/30/2012
Comment on other reviews
I haven't yet tried this recipe - but I suspect the problems people are having are related to the way they're measuring flour. I checked Fine Cooking magazine and they recommend spoon-and-sweep (if you can't weigh), which comes out to about 4.25 or 4.5 ounces per cup - if you're doing dip-and-sweep you're getting about 5 ounces per cup, which is a good way to get dry, crumbly dough. http://www.finecooking.com/item/7668/how-to-measure-flour
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: ALFRED, NJ Reviewed: 04/30/2012
DIRECTIONS NOT CLEAR
These sound really tasty and I will try this recipe but I wish it were a bit clearer re freezing them before baking. Should they be baked while frozen or should they be defrosted??
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  15   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Free Shipping Over $49
Shopping Rewards