View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Orange-Soaked Bundt Cake


Source: Fine Cooking - Issue No. 30
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  21   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Jan Reviewed: 02/03/2012
Fantastic
I've made this cake 2x now & each time it has turned out great. My husband loves it and everyone at work loves it. I did bake in tube pan @ 325. Moist, delicious, just right!
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Jacquelyn Reviewed: 01/30/2012
Screwed Up But Still Good
Baked this cake 2x, the first time I didn't beat it for the full 3 mins on high, it turned out great. 2nd time I did and I watched it as it rose but didn't overflow, whew! However it did fall some. BOTH times I used a half CAN of thawed concentrate, not half cup, duh! And I wondered why it didn't soak thru despite my 100 holes with a wooden skewer... Anyway, it still came out well and everyone enjoyed it. I may not make it as often as my other cakes, but I will certainly keep it.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Jim Reviewed: 01/21/2012
Disaster also
I've made cakes for many many years - this did not work - my guess it has too many eggs - Took much longer to cook than it says, overflowed the pan, fell apart as I removed it, and the flavor tasted too eggy.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Christopher Reviewed: 01/13/2012
Are you kidding me?
Valerie was right on the money! This cake became a living creature while baking and flowed over the top like lava. Granted, my oven needs cleaning anyway, but there is something seriously wrong with this recipe.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Thomas Reviewed: 01/06/2012
Delicious
The cake was great! But my review is a 2 thumbs up for Valerie's review. That is hilarious, whether it really happened or not! You should bake more, Val, and then write more reviews, too!!
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: CJ, Reviewed: 01/06/2012
Suggestion
I fully intend to try this recipe as it sounds very good and as some reviews have indicated. One suggestion to reviewer Bard who had trouble desolving the sugar for the syrup -- put your sugar in a cold pot, pour the liquid slowly around the edge of the pot and with your finger draw an X in the middle of the sugar and allow this to sit for about 10 minutes until ALL the sugar has absorbed the liquid. Cook sugar as then directed. Hope this helps.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Barbara Reviewed: 12/27/2011
Orange-Soaked Bundt Cake
This cake is wonderful. The only problem I had was when making the Syrup I had to heat it to desolve the sugar while wisking, otherwise the sugar would not desolve. I heated it both times and it worked out well
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Lynette, OH Reviewed: 12/27/2011
YUM--great Christmas cake!
I baked this cake for our family's Christmas dessert table, and it was very well liked. I put it on a red dinner plate, glazed it and surrounded it with fresh Clementine sections and fresh cranberries. The presentation looked festive, and everyone enjoyed the cake, too!
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: N Reviewed: 07/03/2011
Quick and delicious
This cake is quick, delicious and with just a dust of sugar and some orange slices on the top, beautiful for the table. My only dislike (all the guests were happy though) was the somewhat metallic tast of the concentrated orange juice. Next time, I will try a caramel soak.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Valerie Reviewed: 04/12/2011
Disaster Cake! Poor flavor too
Recipe specified a stand mixer, high speed with whisk. Resulted in centrifugal force spinning the batter out of the bowl ALL over my kitchen! Finished mixing & poured into the pan. Thought it would be fine; 12-c recipe, pan was 10-c and I had easily lost 2-c to the walls & floor. 20 minutes into baking, the cake rose out of the pan, poured over the sides burning all over my oven. I pulled it out, scraped the excess batter off the top and finished baking. Texture terrible, stuck to pan.
42 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  21   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You