View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Big Oatmeal Raisin Chews


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Tom, PA Reviewed: 03/02/2014
don't bother with this one
I wish I would have read the reviews BEFORE attempting to make these cookies...using butter caused them to come out flat, greasy, and burned on the edges--nothing at all like the cookies pictured with the recipe. Also, 1/4 cup of this dough each for two cookies spread all the way across the cookie sheet--a heaping tsp. is plenty. I haven't been baking that long, so I didn't know about the perils of butter--this recipe was a waste of time, money, and effort!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Edward, PA Reviewed: 02/06/2014
Best EVER!!
I've tried many oatmeal cookie recipes, and this one is by far the best!!! I also add one cup chopped walnuts. I don't know if it matters, but I bake them on a silicon sheet placed on cookie tray. I also roll them into little larger than golf ball size and flatten just a little. I bake 6 at a time and refrigerate rest so you can always have fresh-baked ones. Most important: 15 MINS BAKE!!! One min makes a huge difference (at least in my oven). Good luck Sandy.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Naomi Reviewed: 01/10/2014
Big Oatmeal Raison Chews
These cookies were delicious. 20 minutes in my 350 oven. I used dried blueberries and 1 stick margarine and 1 stick butter. The batter was refrigerated for about 45 minutes. I used a small size cookie scoop which creates balls of batter. The batter did spread out but in adding 5 extra min. The cookies came out with a crispy edge and chewy center. They were 3 - 3 1/2 ". These cookies are very soft when they come out of the oven, too fragile to move. Baked on parchment, they firmed up when cool.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Gwendolyn Reviewed: 09/06/2013
Soooo good!
I used cranberries instead of raisins, but the cookies came out so delicious and HUGE! So good...nom...
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Shirley, MN Reviewed: 02/17/2012
big chew raisins chew cookies
The problem some people r having is in one of the ingredients and that is butter.If you want flat cookies or crisp cookies you use butter.But as you can see the picture shows plump cookies.For plump cookies use a good quality of margarine or shortening or a combination of the 2. Butter makess cookies crispy.I always use marg for all my cookies except a few cookies.Bake a test cookie.For a thicker chewier cooky use marg, add a little flour.It gives cookies & fruit cake a better flavor.
35 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jean Reviewed: 02/15/2012
Grind Raisins!
No review, just a comment. For Oatmeal/Raisin cookies, grind your raisins before you add them!, Makes them much more tastier, and moister! My mother always did this when she made them, super good! Wish I had her recipe! Collect your moms recipes while you can, she's not around forever, and you only have one real mom!
37 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Vicky Reviewed: 01/24/2012
Spendid!!
I just baked these cookies, and they where really easy and I made two normal sized plates of them!! it was a big surprise, just the tea snack I needed!!
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: MAGGIE Reviewed: 11/29/2010
Good tasting with slight modification
I have baked for 65 years and know that a cookie recipe that calls for all butter (even Toll House cookies) spread when they are baked. There are a couple of ways to aleaviate this problem: (1) use 1/2 butter and 1/2 vegetable shortening. (2) refrigerate the dough for 30 min to an hour prior to baking. I usually use oprtion #1 for the butter flavor and still save time from refrigerating. I did so on these cookies and it helped emensley.
75 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Gwendolyn, FL Reviewed: 04/18/2010
Don't waste your ingredients!
These came out more like wafers than cookies. Maybe they needed more flour. They taste good, but the results were not the soft cookie that I was hoping for. I should have stuck with the Quaker Oats recipe.
24 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: chris Reviewed: 03/01/2010
Fantastic Cookie
I would agree with the other reviewer that the first sheet made large cookies. They were the size of a pancake. However, I put the batter in the refrigerator for about 5 minutes to help it harden and cut the size of the dough used from 1/4 cup to 1/8 cup. The cookies came out normal size and they were some of the best cookies I have ever made. I will make them over and over again. The cookie can not be beat (moist, chewy, great taste). Followed the recipe exactly.
30 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards