View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Old-Fashioned Meat Loaf


Source: Casual Cuisines of the World - Diner
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  24   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Mallory, PA Reviewed: 04/15/2013
Do We Ever Make The Same Meatloaf Recipe Twice?
Why is it that every time we make meatloaf it tastes different? The recipes are vast and interesting or worse, horrid and awful. I could tell by the preparation of these ingredients that this is a hit. It's currently in the oven and overall smells and tastes wonderful. I'm serving it with brown rice and sauteed zucchini and peas. I imagine the leftover will make a terrific sandwich for my husband. Thanks for another great recipe!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Diana Reviewed: 04/15/2013
extra special
For a topping try catsup, brown sugar, dry mustard and nutmeg. Makes a really delicious glaze.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Bernie Reviewed: 12/27/2012
Very Delicious Meatloaf, Will Make Again
This is a delicious meatloaf which my family enjoyed,but the special meatloaf pan is not a recent invention. The "GRIT" weekly newspaper in one of their adds sold it and I believe the price was $4.95 plus shipping, and that was 40 years ago.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Judith Reviewed: 02/29/2012
Finally, I meatloaf I can make that tastes good!!
Last time I tried to make a meatloaf, my husband asked me never to make it again. But this recipe sounded so good, I had to try it. Success!! Even my husband ate it! I didn't change a thing on the recipe. And don't worry if you don't have a fancy "draining pan". Just carefully pour the grease from the pan when it comes out of the oven.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Chris Reviewed: 02/02/2012
old fashioned meatloaf
Add a few tablespoons of brown sugar to ketchup and top meatloaf before baking. It adds a nice taste to the meatloaf.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Gary, GA Reviewed: 02/01/2012
Great recipe
I've made this several times and it always turns out great. To change it up and give it a kick, I use a can of Rotel tomatoes & green chilies instead of the ketchup. If you only have a loaf pan, line the bottom with sliced bread to absorb the grease. A trick I got from my grandmother.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: BILLIE Reviewed: 02/01/2012
Why is the meatloaf pictured not the one from the recipe? Where is the tomato sauce poured over the top? Where did the brown gravy come from? You can tell the meatloaf in the picture does not have carrots, onions, etc., in it and it absolutely did not have any tomato sauce either in it or on it.
39 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Richard Reviewed: 09/16/2011
Luv Meat Loaf
I use oats instead of bread crumbs and add a 1/4 cup of brown sugar to catchup for the glaze. An interesting twist is to use crushed Doritos and mix taco seasoning to the meat mixture,some jalapeno if you like. I like to be creative with meat loaf, curry with some egg plant for an Indian twist etc.
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Marsha Reviewed: 02/17/2011
Best Meatloaf I have ever made!!!!
This meatloaf was tender-not dry, infact I should have packed it more into the pan, but boy was it tasty! I will definitely make it again, even my son said "Mom that's the BEST meatloaf you have ever made"! and trust me he has eaten some pretty bad meatloaves in 28 years!! Quite Yummy!
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Paula Reviewed: 02/17/2011
Another Incompetent - NOT!
It says right at the beginning of the recipe "A meat loaf pan, a wonderful recent invention consisting of one pan with drainage holes set inside a second pan, allows excess fat to drain out during cooking". I have one of these pans and it works great. The meatloaf does not cook in its own juices. Alternately, I would guess some like to form a loaf on a flat baking sheet or on a broiler pan to let the fat run down. Whatever floats your boat and if it tastes great, who cares ;)
28 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  24   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You