View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America
Advertisement

Coconut Custard Pie


Source: Casual Cuisines of the World - Diner
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Linda, OK Reviewed: 08/11/2011
Coconut Pie Fantastic
I have read, with interest,all of the reviews of why and why not this pie is cream or custard: I don't really care what it is called, I call it fantastic. I have never made a coconut pie in my life, I was the only one in my family who liked coconut; I made this for me and my guests and got all kinds of rants and raves!! Besides being delicious it has a beautiful presentation. It will get made in my house time after time.
38 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Bernard Reviewed: 02/24/2011
Recipe is a good one but I would decrease the Vanilla 1 tsp and add a !/2 tsp o coconut extract.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Merrie Reviewed: 10/18/2010
I will make this pie it sounds so good. I believe it is more like a coconut cream pie. This is the way my mother taught me to make one. Custard is alot the same thing. The cream is in the topping m-m good looking recipe.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Anne Reviewed: 09/21/2009
This is NOT a coconut custard pie!
This is a coconut cream pie - basically pudding with coconut in it. True coconut custard pie is an egg custard with coconut baked in it, and usually DOES NOT have a topping.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Karen, MI Reviewed: 06/04/2009
Pie Names Clarification
There seems to be some confusion about the recipe's name. I would like to shed some light on this. Typically, custard pie ingredients are mixed, poured into the unbaked pie shell, then baked in an oven, and usually has no topping. Cream pie ingredients are cooked on top of the stove, poured into a hot baked pie shell, allowed to cool/refrigerate, then topped with a whipped cream topping. Meringue pies are prepared exactly like cream pies, except the meringue is placed on hot filling, then baked.
50 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Irma Reviewed: 05/23/2009
Custard Pie Defense
This person is right in saying that this is not a custard but a cream pie. I collect cook books and found custard pies and cream pies are catalog differently. Custard pies do not have butter, in addition eggs are not divided.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Barbara Reviewed: 05/22/2009
Coconut Custard Pie
This sounds heavenly! I love Coconut Cream Pie. The question of the title is a bit confusing. In much older recipes,a "custard" pie like pumpkin, would have a more solid consistancy, though still soft. A lot of cream pies have a cornstarch base with eggs, milk, & sugar and are cooked on top the stove cooled & into a prepared cool crust. Nut pies with a cornsyrup, sugar and eggs are considered custard pie, though not a fluffy pudding-type custard.
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Michele, IL Reviewed: 05/21/2009
Great easy recipe!
By the way Ann - I concur with you it is a custard. The custard is the coconut and the cream is the whipped topping. This can be a good recipe for beginners but I suggest cutting or poking the pie crust before prebaking it so it does not crack. Also, I tried this recipe with toasted coconut and with fresh coconut shavings and prefer the toasted taste better. it seems to give it more texture. I Love this recipe
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Kathryn, CT Reviewed: 05/21/2009
This is a coconut CREAM pie
In response to Ann's questioning of the title, this pie is indeed a coconut custard pie and not a coconut cream pie. Coconut custard pie includes the ingredients listed in this recipe's filling; however once the pie is baked, that's it-a coconut custard pie. When a topping of whipped cream is added to the cooled pie, it becomes a coconut cream pie. If the cream is added to cooled cooked filling and then poured into a cooked pie crust, it is then called a coconut chiffon pie.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ann, TX Reviewed: 07/12/2008
I just read the recipe and have not had a chance to make it. It sounds great, but my response is to the individual who said it is a cream not a custard. How else do you make custard if it is not with eggs, milk and sugar?
223 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards