View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Maple-Walnut Coffee Cake


Source: Cooking.com
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  24   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: sharon Reviewed: 01/12/2012
So, am I to understand that you turn a bundt cake upside down so the filling is on top??? That would be a weird looking cake. Better to use an angel food cake (tube) pan.
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Connie Reviewed: 01/12/2012
Substitute ingredients
For those wanting to know about substitutions. Yogurt can be substituted for sour cream and for maple syrup you could use any pancake syrup or try a coffee flavoring syrup like vanilla or hazelnut same amount as the maple syrup. It would change the flavor but maybe that is what you were wanting.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Julie, MA Reviewed: 12/21/2011
Try Grade B Maple Syrup
I haven't made this yet but it looks delicious. I plan to make it this weekend for overnight family guests. If you aren't getting enough of the maple flavor, try Grade B Maple Syrup. For the same price as the lower intensity Grade A grades, you'll get a deeper, darker flavor from this cooking grade syrup because it is more concentrated. It's pricey, but so worth it...try King Arthur Flour's website to order or just Google it. You can also enhance the flavor by adding some maple flavoring.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: cheryl, NY Reviewed: 11/01/2011
I spent the extra $$$ to buy pure maple syrup. Was looking forward to a wonderful maple taste in that filling, but have to say I was disappointed. It just was not there. I even put in extra syrup as one reviewer suggested. The one positive thing I did like was the consistency of the filling. I wonder if drizzling some maple syrup on the cake after it come out of the pan might help. Would store bought syrup such as Log Cabin provide a better taste? Made it for company. Disappointed.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Janus Reviewed: 07/21/2011
Delicious!!
It is moist. Does anybody know what can be substituted for sour cream when you don't have any?
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Lori, MD Reviewed: 02/26/2010
VERY DISAPPOINTING. I am a pastry chef and prepared it exactly as written. Cake was dry and filling lacked expected maple flavor. Waste of time and ingredients. Will not make this again.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Elfrida Reviewed: 02/23/2010
Great recipe. simple to make and very delicious.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: chris Reviewed: 07/24/2009
Wonderful Coffeecake
This is a wonderful coffeecake. Easy to make, moist, great taste. This cake is good anytime of the day. Keep this recipe and enjoy. It did take 2-3 minutes longer to cook than 40 minutes, as stated in the recipe, and I increased the maple syrup from 1/2 cup to 2/3 cup.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kathleen, MD Reviewed: 07/15/2009
There is no substitute
There is no substitute for real maple syrup.Yes, it is pricey, but worth it .It is possible to get it at a more reasonable price at Trader Joe's. Delicious cake.
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Rose Reviewed: 07/14/2009
This was excellant.I don't drink coffee but it made me want a cup.Had tea instead.yum yum yum!!!
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  24   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You