View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Shortbread Lemon Bars


Source: Taste of Home
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Cindy Reviewed: 04/28/2013
Disaster
This recipe sounded sooo good and I was so anxious to make it. But what a disaster! The lemon filling didn't hold up to the sour cream topping. As a result, it looked awful. Don't know but I'm guessing the baking time is off.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Liebenberg, BC Reviewed: 08/23/2012
Was keen to try this recipe
Could not wait to try the recipe
6 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Monte, CA Reviewed: 08/22/2012
Yummy and Easy!
Shortbread, lemon and topped with sour cream...doesn't get much better! Shortbread mixed in processor,easy. Lemon filling pours on like water, but bakes up clear and lemony. Sour cream topping brings creamy to the tart lemon filling. Great shortbread crust, too! Yummy. And easy!
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: beverly Reviewed: 05/03/2012
husband begs me to make these!
these are so very rich and delicious. the filling reminds me of tiny lemon chess pies. i added another 1/3 cup of sugar to the sour cream mix and it was super yummy. i recommend making them as they will definitely be a hit!
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Diane Reviewed: 07/05/2011
Made this last week. I increased the baking time for each step except the last one. Lemon filling did not set up in the middle. Would never do this again. The original lemon bar recipe WITHOUT sour cream topping is infinitely better. This is a dud.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Margaret, NE Reviewed: 09/18/2010
Fabulous Recipe
I have made this recipe numerous times now and I get rave reviews every time I do! It's a fabulous recipe and easy to make- while the crust is cooking, you prepare the filling. While the filling is cooking, you prepare the topping, and while the topping is cooking, you clean up! It keeps moving, isn't too time- or labor-intensive, and is YUMMY! A must for anyone who loves lemon bars!
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Lori, NY Reviewed: 08/26/2010
Not as expected
I was disappointed in these bars. I found the my filling was very soupy after the time alotted. I really should have baked it a good fifteen minutes more than suggested. The top layer was not adequate enough to cover the tops of the bars as the picture would have you believe. 2 cups covering a thirteen x nine area would not give you the thickness of a 1/4 inch like it seems in the picture. The taste is very good despite its gooeyness.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kathleen Reviewed: 07/17/2010
Baked these for a church bake sale
I love lemon bars anyway...but these are the BEST ever. They practically melt in your mouth. Mine didn't quite look like the picture, but great anyway. I think I needed to back at the higher amount of minutes for each step. This is a winner!
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Allison, MA Reviewed: 07/12/2010
So-So
I thought these bars were perfectly tasty and adequate, not as scrumptious as I had hoped. The orange zest was a nice touch for mellowing the flavor of the lemon juice. I found the crust did not have the shortbread texture I was hoping for; it lacked that sandiness that would have contrasted well with the texture of the lemon filling. The topping was a nice addition, versus the usual dusting of confectioner's sugar.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Emma Reviewed: 03/12/2010
Delicious!
I baked the lemon bars last week and my family agreed these are the best! I fallow the previous reviews and I use 1/12 cups of sugar. Just perfect!
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  13   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You