View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Maine Potato Candy


Source: Taste of Home
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Gloria Reviewed: 12/25/2012
Balls ... not "bars"
I followed the recipe directions exactly, but when I took out the "bars" from the freezer to dip in chocolate, it fell to pieces. Soooooo, the bars became balls! Still yummy!
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: julie Reviewed: 05/11/2012
Memories of Grandma
My grandma made potato candy by adding enough powdered sugar to extra mashed or boiled potatoes to made it sturdy enough to roll out. Then she spread it with peanut butter, rolled it up and sliced it jelly roll style. Definitely yum.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: E Reviewed: 06/01/2011
Taste's like Almond Joy bars
This would be good if they didn't put SOOO much sugar in it. I found it much too sweet. I think you could put half the amount of sugar and it would be just fine. Everyone who tasted them said the same thing,"tastes like an almond joy!!"
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Mertie Reviewed: 05/31/2011
Maine Potato Candy
This is what we in Maine call NEEDHAMS. It is something we make at Christmas time for gifts. It is easy and Delish
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: lynne, CA Reviewed: 05/31/2011
Maine Potato Candy
My grandparents made potato candy every year at Christmas but didn't use coconut. They mixed warm boiled potatoes with the confectioner's sugar, vanilla (occasionally other flavorings) & food coloring. The candy was rolled into balls & a pecan or walnut half pressed into it. When I got a little older more than 40 years ago, they let me make the candy with them. My grandfather was from Arkansas & Louisiana, my grandmother was a 2nd generation Californian. I figured this was a depression recipe.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Cheri Reviewed: 05/31/2011
Love this recipe!
I've been making this potato candy for years now, and everytime I make it, someone wants the recipe. It is just like eating Mounds candy, but probably less fattening...maybe! :D
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: K Reviewed: 12/09/2010
We call these Irish Potatoes in PA, and serve them for St Past's Day-YUMM!!
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Beth Reviewed: 12/03/2010
Needhams!
My grandmother made these. Needhams are an absolute favorite & bring back many memories. I make a batch to remember her each year. Stunningly delicious.
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Christopher Reviewed: 12/18/2009
The Maine Name
These are called Needhams!
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Suzanne Reviewed: 12/14/2009
A huge hit
We live part time in Idaho, so I made these as a goof to give to my out of state friends. My expectations were low, but they were a huge hit. I used Ghiradelli milk chocolate as the dipping chocolate. I've given out the recipe twice so far.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  11   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You