View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Culinary Escape to Spain
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

French Toast Casserole


Source: Taste of Home
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: tracy, IL Reviewed: 01/05/2014
not worth it
I used Chibatta bread instead of french bread & refrigerated it for the recommended amount of time. It seemed that the bread rose to the top and the eggs cooked underneath it instead of the egg mixture soaking into the bread. The cubes of bread were then hard and dry on top. I will not make this again.
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Linda Reviewed: 03/11/2013
French Toast Casserole
I have been making this for years but with a few changes. I put brown sugar, butter and cinnimon in the pan first, then the bread and other ingredients. Also add raisins, sometimes nuts, and have added sliced apples to the mixture. It always turns out sooooooo good.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Donna, OH Reviewed: 08/16/2012
Yea I made French Toast
When it comes to breakfast food, my husband is usually in charge. But I thought I could manage this one seeing as it was done the night before and in the oven. My family loved it. It is being requested for their first day back to school breakfast. thanks for such a great recipe.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: r. Reviewed: 07/30/2012
french toast casserole
this is how i make my bread pudding. the ingredients are the same too.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Ann, KS Reviewed: 06/07/2012
Made some mods
I used this recipe mostly as a suggestion. Here is what I did: Used 1/2 of a very large loaf of challah bread Used almond milk instead of dairy milk Used a carton of egg whites Doubled the cinnamon & mixed it in w/everything else Replaced the sugar w/xylitol Added about 1/2 cup of golden raisins & about 1.5 c of chunky applesauce Only let the mixture soak for about an hour; 8 hours seemed a bit unnecessary I didn't bother adding the butter, sugar & cinnamon on top Yummy!
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: yolanda, TX Reviewed: 03/09/2012
French toast casserole
I did one better with this recipe. The next morning I placed the soggy pieces of bread on a place and set side. I then placed some sliced bananas on bottom of casserole followed by thawed frozen strawberries. I then placed soggy bread back on top of fruit,sprinkled all with cinninion and sugar and baked as directed. When done top with syrup and whipped cream and serve. Be sure and give everyone a pillow because that will be their next stop.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Jeani Reviewed: 12/31/2011
Rather Tasteless
I made this just like the receipe had said and it was rather tasteless. My guys, who eat EVERYTHING, didn't even finish theirs. I think that if I attempt to make this again I will not cube the bread so I can make layers and add teh cinnamon and suger in teh middle too.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: K Reviewed: 12/29/2011
Yum@
Try it using Panetone bread! Add diced apples and raisens or pumpkin and dried cranberries for the holidays!
17 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: DEbbie Reviewed: 10/29/2011
Comfort casserole......so worth it.
Don't discard that stale bread. I doubled the recipe and added walnuts...My husband and I devoured it in two days....addictive!
21 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Janet Reviewed: 10/07/2011
Fabulous!
This is a quick to put together recipe. I too cut the eggs to 6 and the milk to 2 1/2 cups. I used about 1 and 3/4 loaves of stale Italian bread. The top of it bakes up crispy and the insides soft and creamy. Everyone loved it wanted more. Easy to do and wows the guests/family!
36 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  33   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 3 4 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You