View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Mashed Potato Timbales


Source: Taste of Home
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Jeanette Reviewed: 06/20/2013
Great idea for potatoes
I really enjoyed this recipe. It has a few steps, but I started early in the day. I got it all put together within 15 minutes after potatoes are cooked and mashed, then I let it sit until I was ready to bake it. There is just 2 of us, so I baked it all & froze the leftovers for other meals. Calorie count I came up with is 125 per timbale. I used 2 T. chives instead of onion itself, and could have used more.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Dawn Reviewed: 11/16/2012
Huge hit!!!!
I'm not sure why these would come out dry like other reviewers had mentioned, but I'm guessing their measurements or ingredients were off. We absolutely loves these and they are a snap to make. If you're already making mashed potatoes, this is an extra 5 minutes work. Mke popped right out of the muffin pan but I also have a high quality pan.
9 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Nicole Reviewed: 01/04/2011
Yummo... with some alterations
I baked (and scooped out)the potatoes because I wanted the potato skins for another dish. Ended up with almost 3.5 lbs and multiplied the ingredients by 1.5 and used 4 egg whites since most people thought the original was a little dry. I also added real bacon bits and fresh grated parm cheese to the potato mixture & added extra (italian) bread crumbs and fresh parm to the top. They were a BIG hit. It made alot more than it seemed to note on the recipe. I got about 72 out of my ingredients.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Stuart, CT Reviewed: 12/28/2010
A Good Start But Fiinished Poorly
The basic idea is ok, but the final result was a disappointment. On my second try, I changed from non-fat or low-fat to full fat. I also used a whole egg rather than egg whites. I used real garlic instead of powdered. I used Yukon Gold potatoes for more flavor. I added some finely diced spicy Spanish chorizo. I buttered the muffin tins and used homemade, fresh breadcrumbs instead of the garbage in the cardboard can. I used fresh rosemary to get some real flavor. The end result was great!
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Susan Reviewed: 12/12/2010
Mashed Potato Timbales
I like this recipe very much ... I added a little milk to keep it moist and, the second time I made it I put it into a casserole instead of using of using muffin tins, it was creamier and easier to make, especially for a larger group - thank you!
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: louise Reviewed: 02/21/2010
Great Basic Recipe
This was a great starter recipe. Using the low fat ricotta, adds no calories or cholesterol. I added chives and would try real bacon bits in the future, or shredded white cheddar on the tops.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Philip Reviewed: 02/17/2010
Needs help
I agree with the other reviewers: time consuming, somewhat bland and dry. Mine didn't release well from the muffin cups, but otherwise a neat presentation. Maybe more salt, real minced garlic, and good parm would help
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: diana Reviewed: 02/08/2010
Yuck
These were too much work and taste terrible.
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Eve Reviewed: 02/07/2010
Needed a little kick
Recipe was dry. Next time I will use more butter and regular sour cream, more salt, and add cheddar cheese on top. I added a fresh rosemary sprig for better presentation. When heating leftovers, I placed them in aluminum foil and added butter on top in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Summer Reviewed: 02/05/2010
Lots of Work for simple result
These were somewhat difficult to make, and I used too much bread crumbs on top and they burned a little. Flavor was okay, we tried them with creamed corn and gravy on top and both improved it a lot. I liked the cute little muffin style, but the kids hated it and woudn't eat. So considering the work put into it, I would only make it for big dinners or get-togethers with other adults.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You