View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
America

Sweet Potato Casserole


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 1
by: Charmaine, WA Reviewed: 10/14/2014
Delicious!
I would cut back to 2.5 c of mashed sweet potato to make this a little bit more moist. I also added about 1/2 t of cinnamon. This dish was full of flavour and was thoroughly enjoyed at our Thanksgiving feast!
0 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: CHRIS Reviewed: 09/07/2012
Even the homeless wouldn't eat it!
I tripled the recipe and mad it to serve at our local homeless shelter. They were so appreciative of everything we made but not many were eating the sweet potatoes. They were coming up to get seconds of other items with the sweet potatoes barely eaten. A few came back and asked for seconds but they still had some on their plate (I think they felt bad because people weren't eating it)I strictly followed the directions except I baked then peeled my potatoes rather than boil. It tasted aweful!
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Catherine, VA Reviewed: 12/30/2011
Delicious and Nutricious!
I have made this for a few years at Thanksgiving and Christmas and it always receives rave reviews from my family and friends. It is a wonderful, healthy version of a classic holiday dish.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Celia Reviewed: 12/26/2011
Smashing Hit
This recipe -with a couple of small changes- was a hit with my family! I tripled the measurements and served 30 adults & kids. I baked then pureed the sweet potatoes in the blender (easier on the wrists) and since my kids have nut allergies, I put pineapples (drain the liquid) on top and browned in the oven for 10 more minutes!
16 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Samantha, KS Reviewed: 11/24/2011
Fabulous!!!
First off, people who are allergic to certain ingredients and or have not made a recipe should not review or rate it!!!!!!!! If you have not made it and are asking a question at the very least give it a neutral rating. Now....this was amazing. Hub followed the recipe to the letter and we loved it. It's sweet without being sugary or too like a dessert. We made a traditional style for the kids but they liked this one, too. Will definitely make a lot more of this in the future!
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Kathleen, FL Reviewed: 11/22/2011
Sweet Potato Casserole
When I searched for a 'lighter' version of this classic casserole while on vacation in the mountains of NC, I discovered this one. I followed all the directions, and was quite pleased. Since, however, I bake the sweet potatoes (often in the microwave), scoop and put into the processor w/the frozen OJ concentrate, and blend. Period. It's furious and fabulous. We like it w/a ham, biscuits and freshly steamed spinach n butter!
25 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Renee Reviewed: 11/10/2011
yuck
I made this exact recipe last year and everyone hated it except one person. Everyone wanted the traditional one with butter and brown sugar. I can't blame them, so did I!!!
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Margaret Reviewed: 11/03/2011
A Couple of Questions
(1) Why would one put whole wheat flour in a potato casserole? ( I have Celiac Disease so could not eat the casserole) (2) Why sugar with SWEET potatoes? ( N.B I am British so am not accustomed this sort of cooking and know this is a trad southern dish. Could I make it sans flour,sugar, honey? Cheers - Curious in MA
25 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Katherine, WA Reviewed: 07/13/2011
Try baking the sweet potatoes
This recipe is very similar to a sweet potato casserole I've been making for years, but at some point I tried making it with baked sweet potatoes instead of boiled. The taste is far more rich - AND you don't lose so much of the nutritional benefits down the drain!
36 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Stan Reviewed: 11/18/2010
NO, NO, NO!!!!!
Sweet Potato Casserole, like most Southern dishes, does not lend itself well to low-cal versions; as a matter of fact, some people are ALLERGIC to honey, and to use this in leu of Sugar (Brown or otherwise) is completely not allowed in my home! It cracks me up how, in due time, someone comes up with "low cal" versions of Soul Food----and it winds up in the garbage, where these "low-cal" versions belong!!
38 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  14   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards