View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping Over $49
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Chicken & Sweet Potato Stew


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
Rating: 4
by: Jennifer Reviewed: 03/09/2013
Pretty Good--some tips,,,
The only change I made was using breasts (skin on) since I prefer the white meat. After reading reviews, I used a trick that no chef would ever agree with and that is to use salt sparingly in the cooking process, then salt liberally at the end. I find that when you salt while cooking the taste it is lost and let's face it, we like the taste of salt. So, why not add it where you'll taste it most? That solved the problem of the chicken being bland. Otherwise, very tasty, if a bit rosemary-intense.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Colleen Reviewed: 11/09/2012
Just Meh
Nothing spectacular.
13 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Susan Reviewed: 09/19/2012
Disappointing
This looked delicious, but was less than ho-hum. I followed the directions to the T, and used the freshest, mostly organic ingredients. I love chicken AND sweet potatoes, but should have just cooked them on the grill as usual.
10 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Shirley, OR Reviewed: 09/17/2012
Picture with Recipe is NOT sweet potato
You have bright orange vegtable with the chicken,looks more like carrot. Sweet potato is blonde or light gold and holds its shape when cooked. You have yams in the picture and they become mush when cooked. As for flavor, they are totally different. This recipe works great with sweet potato.
23 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Susie Reviewed: 09/16/2012
Sounds wonderful except for one bad thing, those NASTY GROSS REVOLTING DISGUSTING FILTHY FUNGAS MUSHROOMS. Why do people eat those nasty fungas nodules???????????
18 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: Lida Reviewed: 09/16/2012
Looks like a great recipe.....but
For those of us who do not have slow cookers, wouldn't it be nice if you could also include instructions on using conventional cooking method.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Debrah Reviewed: 01/02/2012
Chicken & Sweet Potato Stew.
Sound's wonderful! But I would like to know what can take the place of the wine? For no other reason than "I don't like the taste" of wine. TY! ;)
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Samantha, KS Reviewed: 10/03/2011
Plenty of Flavor!
I have no idea why others are complaining of lack of flavor here, but my guesses are possibly they got yams instead of sweet potatoes (yes, there is a difference), they didn't get a good wine, or they have lost their tastebuds. I used fresh rosemary which I found close to too intense; the shallots & sweet potatoes gave wonderful flavors. My only complaint (if you can even call it that) was the chicken fell apart before I could get it off the bones making it hard to dig out.
15 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Cathy Reviewed: 04/14/2011
nice, comfort meal
This was very easy to put together and nice to have at the end of the day. Not a lot of strong flavors. The vinegar at the end is a good touch. I will make it again because it is quick and healthy. Not delicious.
20 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Tina Reviewed: 01/26/2011
rather blah
We were not impressed with this. It had no flavor.
19 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  12   Viewing: 1 - 10   Page 1 2 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You