View cart background image
0
items
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Real Cornbread


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Wayne Reviewed: 11/02/2011
True Cornbread!
Great-tasting cornbread! It's almost exactly the same recipe that my mother used when I was growing up: no sugar, no flour for certain, but occasionally an egg. Mom used lard that we had rendered (or crisco) and sometimes would put cracklins in the mix before baking it.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Linda Reviewed: 11/02/2011
Make cornbread cheaper
Just buy a box of Jiffy Corngread mix, it has all the dry ingredients. Following th mixing off the box. After that, set the oven on 350 and get out the 6 inch cast iron pan. Put a slab of unsalted butter in the pant and return to oven to melt. After it melts remove pan and pour into cornbread mixture. Then return the mixture to pan to cook for about 20 minutes or golden brown. Prefect everytime!
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: gretchen Reviewed: 11/02/2011
real cornbread
I was so hoping this would have corn in it!
8 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Janet Reviewed: 11/02/2011
Almost Right
My family's 4th generation recipe from North Carolina by way of Arkansas uses no egg and requires buttermilk. The key, though, is bacon drippings in the batter and to use bacon drippings in the pan. Preheat the cast iron skillet in the oven with the drippings. Put in the batter and bake.
11 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Erin Reviewed: 11/02/2011
My Mimi's Cornbread
This is the same recipe my grandmother, we call her Mimi, taught me how to make, right down to heating up the oil in the skillet. I love the way the batter sizzles when you pour it into the skillet. For a transplanted Southerner living up North, I'm now teaching my own kids how to make real cornbread!
5 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 4
by: Doak Reviewed: 11/02/2011
Great Basic Cornbread Recipe!
This is good cornbread, right there. I make it about the same way, except that I only use 2 tablespoons of oil, I definitely use buttermilk (and a little baking soda), and I add about 2-3 tablespoons of grated cheddar cheese and finely minced onion to the batter. Occasionally, I also will add other stuff (chopped, roasted hatch chilis or jalapenos; chopped chipotle and ground cumin; rosemary; whatever sounds good). With the extra stuff, I have to bake it a few minutes longer.
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jack Reviewed: 06/11/2011
My Dad's Cornbread
My father was from the mountains of North Carolina. We grew up eating his incredible cornbread and this is almost his recipe. Use a cast iron skillet, yellow cornmeal and Crisco instead of canola oil. Melt crisco in the skillet before adding to the prepared batter. Add batter to hot skillet to begin a good crust. Bacon bits and diced green onion add flavor and moistness. As another reviewer stated, DO NOT add sugar, the is cornbread not corncake.
27 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jean, SC Reviewed: 04/02/2011
Real Cornbread
This recipe is great for someone on a gluten free diet. It tastes far superior to gluten free recipes I have tried.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: joe Reviewed: 03/31/2011
great cornbread
that is old south cornbread!.. for a change I fry the batter in a skillet like pancakes it give it a great crusty outside.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Dave Reviewed: 11/11/2010
Mama would've thrown me and the batter out if I even thought about puttin' eggs in Cornbread
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  22   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You