View cart background image
0
items
Free Shipping on orders of $40 or more
Dash of Diamonds and Pinch of Pearls Sweepstakes
Get Timely and Delicious Recipe Updates
 

Real Cornbread


Source: © EatingWell Magazine
Recipe Reviews Add to Fav save recipe View Fav view my favorites Email Friend email recipe to a friend
reviews by:   date  |   rating  |   cheers  |   reviewer name
 Reviews:  21   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
Rating: 5
by: Wayne Reviewed: 11/02/2011
True Cornbread!
Great-tasting cornbread! It's almost exactly the same recipe that my mother used when I was growing up: no sugar, no flour for certain, but occasionally an egg. Mom used lard that we had rendered (or crisco) and sometimes would put cracklins in the mix before baking it.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Linda Reviewed: 11/02/2011
Make cornbread cheaper
Just buy a box of Jiffy Corngread mix, it has all the dry ingredients. Following th mixing off the box. After that, set the oven on 350 and get out the 6 inch cast iron pan. Put a slab of unsalted butter in the pant and return to oven to melt. After it melts remove pan and pour into cornbread mixture. Then return the mixture to pan to cook for about 20 minutes or golden brown. Prefect everytime!
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Erin Reviewed: 11/02/2011
My Mimi's Cornbread
This is the same recipe my grandmother, we call her Mimi, taught me how to make, right down to heating up the oil in the skillet. I love the way the batter sizzles when you pour it into the skillet. For a transplanted Southerner living up North, I'm now teaching my own kids how to make real cornbread!
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 1
by: gretchen Reviewed: 11/02/2011
real cornbread
I was so hoping this would have corn in it!
3 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Lynne, IL Reviewed: 11/02/2011
True Southern Cornbread
My Grandmother was Southern and I grew up on her cornbread and home canned green beans. Her recipe is simialr to this one but she used baking soda instead of baking powder and yes she used an egg. She probably used lard in my young years but I use oil and heat it in the skillet to make a good crust. I have even taken to using melted butter in the skillet and poring it in the batter. Butter makes a great tasting batter and leaves a butter taste not an oil taste.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jack Reviewed: 06/11/2011
My Dad's Cornbread
My father was from the mountains of North Carolina. We grew up eating his incredible cornbread and this is almost his recipe. Use a cast iron skillet, yellow cornmeal and Crisco instead of canola oil. Melt crisco in the skillet before adding to the prepared batter. Add batter to hot skillet to begin a good crust. Bacon bits and diced green onion add flavor and moistness. As another reviewer stated, DO NOT add sugar, the is cornbread not corncake.
27 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: Jean, SC Reviewed: 04/02/2011
Real Cornbread
This recipe is great for someone on a gluten free diet. It tastes far superior to gluten free recipes I have tried.
14 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 5
by: joe Reviewed: 03/31/2011
great cornbread
that is old south cornbread!.. for a change I fry the batter in a skillet like pancakes it give it a great crusty outside.
12 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 3
by: Dave Reviewed: 11/11/2010
Mama would've thrown me and the batter out if I even thought about puttin' eggs in Cornbread
7 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation

Rating: 2
by: Diane Reviewed: 11/01/2010
I tried this recipe this weekend. Will NEVER make this one again. WAY too much oily taste. It was also rather tasteless, other than the oil taste.
4 people gave this Cheers. Click here to Cheer this review. Report Violation
Return to Recipe
 Reviews:  21   Viewing: 11 - 20   Page 1 2 3 < Back Next > 
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams 

Follow Cooking.com

Price Match Guarantee
Satisfaction Guarantee
Shopping Rewards

Recommended Items for You